ATB: Anxiety

Hello, all! This my first ATB article, so I’d love it if you’d comment below and tell me what you thought about it.

So, first of all, I want to clarify what I mean by anxiety. For me, anxiety is worrying about future events. It can be how I’m going to pay for college five years from now, or if I’ve studied enough for my history test.  I also think that anxiety and stress go hand in hand. If anxiety is worrying about things, stress is the feeling produced when we’re overwhelmed.

Okay. Now that we’ve got that down, let me tell you a little about what I have anxiety about. It’s mostly the future. I’m in eighth grade, which means that next year my grades will count toward a scholarship for college, which puts a lot of pressure on me to work hard in my studies. I also need to get a job in the next year or so, to start saving up for a car and college, of course! Ugh, I’m feeling anxious just writing about it.

But, according to the Bible, (see what I did there) there’s no need for worrying. “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your heart and mine as you live in Jesus Christ.” Philippians: 4:6-7

Did you catch the beginning of that? Don’t worry about ANYTHING.  Anything. The standardized tests? Don’t worry. College? Don’t worry. Your friend who has the flu? Nope. Don’t worry. But there’s another part too. “Instead, pray about everything.” God isn’t saying, “You just need to forget about it.” No, we’re instructed to pray about it! I know when I pray about what’s worrying me, it’s like taking a deep, calming breath.

We’re also reminded to be honest with God about the things we need, and to thank him for all he’s done. That’s really important for me, because when I’m worried, I get tunnel vision. I only think about that one circumstance and not about how God has moved in other parts of my life. That’s when we can receive God’s peace which usually doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. You know that other people would be freaking out, but God just lets you have peace about whatever was worrying you. It guards your heart and mind from anxiety as you live in relationship with Jesus.

Another part of the Bible that I LOVE, is Luke 12:22-26. “Do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?” 

Jesus was telling his disciples, “Why are you so worried? Do you doubt that God is in control of your life, and that he can handle anything? The God who cares for you takes care of the ravens. He feeds them, clothes them, protects them, and he loves you so much more. So if he’s taking care of you, and you truly believe that he is, why are you worrying? You can’t add time to your life by worrying, so stop!”

And that’s what it all comes down to. When we worry about future jobs, and sick relatives, and hard tests, and strained friendships, we tend to leave God out of the equation. According to the Bible, that’s the opposite of what we’re supposed to do. To let go of worry, we need to bring our circumstances to God, believing that he hears, he cares and he is in control. If God’s in control, you and I don’t need to stress. He’s a good God, who loves us and is capable of taking care of us.

No more fear, no more worry. He’s in control of it all. When we bring these things to him, he’s faithful to give us peace. True peace. The peace that comes from knowing that even when we face stress-inducing things, they don’t worry him.

“What then, shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?.” Romans 8:31

Blessings,

Bright Eyes

5 thoughts on “ATB: Anxiety

  1. I have had anxiety for a long time. I prayed for God to lead me to a place in the Bible that would help me. I randomly opened the Bible right to Luke 12:22. I still deal with anxiety, however, it is starting to leave. Thanks, Bright Eyes. This post was very encouraging.

  2. We read what you wrote today, and it was really interesting. (Charlotte) We learned from your message. (Elizabeth) What you said was very accurate to the Bible. (Joshua) Your letter was very inspiring. (Daniel) . We loved your letter, and whenever we’re worried, we will try to pray. (Joshua) .

  3. Some more ideas we had for ATB are:
    –If there’s something you have that are yours and your siblings don’t have those things, what should you do?
    –What should we do if our friends ask us to do something that is not right? How can we handle it with kindness?
    –If someone had a lot of money, and another person would want a lot of money, how can we stay not being greedy and be content with what we have in our family?

  4. Hey BRIGHT EYES’ BLOG,

    I’ve had anxiety before I know how you feel, I worry about my grades too because we are in 8th grade and if we don’t pass we have to stay in the same grade. I also like how you include God in your post it is really inspiring .

    Go check out my blog!
    https://alinasnotsosecretdiary.blogspot.com

    I look forward to hearing from you.
    Alina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *