ATB: Cha-Ching, Cha-Ching, Cha-Ching

Hey everybody, I’m so sorry for this ATB being out late! This past week has been super busy.

This week I’ll be talking about something that you guys suggested: what do we do when we feel jealous of another family that has more money than ours does? Just to start off, I want to share a verse with you guys. It’s the beginning of  1 Timothy 6:10, “For the love of money is the root of all evil.” Here’s the whole verse in a different translation:”But if it’s only money these leaders are after, they’ll self-destruct in no time. Lust for money brings trouble and nothing but trouble. Going down that path, some lose their footing in the faith completely and live to regret it bitterly ever after.” Whoa, right? According the Bible loving money is a serious sin. Apparently, it actually leads to other sins!

But you might be thinking, “What does this have to do with the question? It was about money, but nobody said anything about loving money!” Let me clarify: I shared that verse because I think it reflects God’s view of money. Is money in and of itself bad? No, of course not. But putting money over everything IS wrong.

Now, back to the question. I totally get seeing people around you with more money, and nicer clothes, and books, and a nicer car, and a bedroom they don’t share with their siblings and being like, ” I really wish my family had the money for all of that stuff.” But that’s the thing, those things are just stuff. They hold no eternal value, which means, in heaven none of it’s going to matter. The Bible says, “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6: 19-21)

Let’s break that verse down. Jesus is saying, “Don’t spend lots of time and money getting stuff here on earth as your treasure. If all of it is here, who says that it won’t mold, or be stolen? Spend lots of money and time on things that will last. Give to people who are in need. Spend time with God and the people you love. These are the treasures of heaven. ” And then he tells us that where are treasures are, the things we get spend our lives on, that is where our hearts will be. I don’t know about you, but I want my treasures to be in heaven, with Jesus, where I can enjoy them forever. I don’t want them to be here on earth, which is going to end one day.

So, I bet you’re wondering how this applies to the question. I’ll let you in on my secret to being content with what I have. Come a little closer, I don’t want anyone else to hear. Okay, this is it: God’s given me what He’s given me. In comparison to most of the population, I have it really, really good.

And, get ready for the next part: The things that really matter in life, I’m very rich in. I’m learning to invest my time on knowing God, blessing the people around me, and using the talents He’s given me to do things I love. And so, I can tell you with confidence, that the money doesn’t matter. That kid’s super expensive sneakers that he’s bragging about don’t matter. The most beautiful, fulfilling things in life are free. So, in this coming week, I’m challenging myself (and you) to store up my treasures in heaven. 

See you on the flip side,

Bright Eyes

2 thoughts on “ATB: Cha-Ching, Cha-Ching, Cha-Ching

  1. Bright Eyes, we were very blessed studying your post in Bible time this morning. We had some great discussions together!

    Here are some of the ideas we have about ways we hope to store up treasures in Heaven this week. Group one said to treasure your family more than things and stuff. We think that would look like spending time with them, loving them, including them, making things for them, giving to them.

    Group two said we think it could be giving some of our stuff to the poor. This might look like giving a blanket to the Haven, helping the food pantry at our churches, or giving to missionaries. We have been blessed with a LOT, and we could look for ways to share the things we have with others.

    Group three said we think it would be praying and reading the Bible, because that would be putting God before yourself. Thinking of what would bring Him all the glory and not yourself. We made the connection to our study of the Tower of Babel yesterday, where they were doing some of the things God said to do as far as filling the earth and cultivating/creating, but they were not submitting it all to God or doing what they were doing to honor Him. It was for themselves and what they wanted instead. So if we are constantly seeking God in His Word and praying, we can keep our hearts in tune with His and how He would want us to use “our stuff.”

    Keep up the amazing work on ATB! We love it! We can see you put a lot of hard work into it, both you and Farm Girl, and you are a blessing to us.

    Miss Blessing’s 3rd and 4th graders

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *